Land Cruiser 90 Series - making me a newb again!

This will be a build thread for my newly acquired KZJ90 Land Cruiser Prado. It will probably host stories from the JDM journeys blog as well since there will undoubtedly be things written about this rig.

First some starting stats:
1999 Land Cruiser 90 Series… JDM market and thus RHD.
5 speed manual. 1kz-te turbo diesel.
Front coilovers on ifs, rear coils on live axle, with LSD.
Body on frame. SWB@95 inches.

Much the same platform underneath as 3rd gen 4runner and Tacoma of same years… At least that’s what I’ve read. I’ve no idea myself. My head has been in the Mitsu sand for the last 2 and half decades so I’m a complete Toyota noob.

95,700 kms and mint condition. This is not meant to sound typical… It really is mint. Likely the best condition vehicle I’ve had outside of brand new off the showroom floor.

Came from Japan as a one owner and with every service record since new.

So let’s just say every thing I do to it will be carefully considered. Except the odometer. That will get populated pretty quickly since my commute is 160kms/day.

Much to add even as an intro but making a beginning at least gets it going. More to come.

3 Likes

First job was audio/nav… The factory cassette deck was past it’s prime about 15 years ago. Time to go.

Found a harness adapter easily, at my local Walmart (I could get used to this… My mitsu years have been a trial). Then made my harness on the bench to avoid cutting factory wires, and it was plug and play.

IMG_0162

Replaced the OEM with a Sony Android auto unit that occupied the double DIN slot.

In dash Navi via Google maps, plus streaming of Spotify etc, and of course Bluetooth calling. Speakers will need to be addressed at some point but they are functional at least.

4 Likes